First Novel Prize 2023 Shortlist

We are thrilled to announce the 2023 shortlist.

Damsel by Becca Luke

Gentleman Wong by K. J. A. Lee

If there’s One Thing You Should Know about Me by Joshua King

Middle State by Scott Penn

Strange Vine by Rosamund Healey

The Child’s Bargain by Lucy Peters

The Englishman by Omar Al-Khayatt

The Lost Secret of Owain Glyndŵr by Theo Malings

The Patron Saint of Silence by Toyin Adekola

Your Self Again by Maira Bakenova

Congratulations to the ten listed writers!

Thank you to all entrants in this year’s First Novel Prize. It’s been a thrill and a privilege to read your work.

This year more promising writers than ever before will not have been shortlisted. Over the coming weeks, we will aim to send some brief feedback to as many entrants as we can.

We will announce the two winners on the 31st of August 2023.

Until next year, keep writing and enjoy the discovery!